Thursday, September 8, 2011

Noisy Love Songs

After hearing Okkyung Lee, John Tilbury, Evan Parker and John Russell at the PUNKT festival in Kristiansand last week, I grabbed a copy of Okkyung Lee´s new album on Tzadik. "Noisy Love Songs" (2011) is being released in Tzadik´s Oracles series, focusing on women in experimental music.

I don´t think it´s much noise on "Noisy Love Songs", but the album has got a strong (and varied) mix of composed material and improvisations. We get to hear slow, sad tunes like "One hundred years old rain" (with real rain and instruments sounding a bit like animals), some open improv ( at least it sounds like that on "Sayea Saeya") and a real headbanger too ("Kung").

These fine musicians play: Okkyung Lee (cello), Cornelius Duffalo (violin), Peter Evans (trumpet), Craig Taborn (piano), Satoshi Takeishi (percussion, electronics), Christopher Tordini (b), and also Ikue Mori (electronics) and John Hollenbeck (percussion) on "Steely Morning" (where we almost can hear the sunbeams).

A great album indeed, and I promise to check out Lee´s previous album in this series too, called "Nihm" (2005).

Cover: Okkyung Lee/Chippy.

No comments: