Sunday, May 18, 2008


In 1967 Robert Wyatt, Kevin Ayers, Daevid Allen and Mike Ratledge (as Soft Machine) recorded some demos with producer Giorgio Gomelsky. This material was not issued until much later as "Jet-Propelled Photographs", "At the Beginning or just "Soft Machine". I have to say that this (whimsical?) pop-rock is my favorite Soft Machine material.
Daevid Allen and his University of Errors, who played in Bergen last week, have recreated the album track by track (Cuneiform 2004). Allen claims he had some bad guitar days during the Gomelsky sessions, and wanted to do it better, but he lets Josh Pollock do a lot of the work. Buy both Soft Machine's and Errors records!
Voiceprint just released a DVD with Daevid Allen's University of Errors, where they play a lot of this material, that also was performed during the concert in Bergen. The band is super and Daevid Allen is charming, both as a performer and vocalist. The concert in Bergen was good, but it is nice to see them in front of more people (and with a psychedelic light show) at The Melkweg in Amsterdam (autumn 2006)!

The songs on Jet-Propelled Photographs:
1. That's How Much I Need You Now (Wyatt)
2. Save Yourself (Wyatt)
3. I Should've Known (H. Hopper)
4. Jet Propelled Photograph
(a.k.a. Shooting at the Moon)(Ayers)
5. When I Don't Want You (H. Hopper)
6. Memories (H. Hopper)
7. You Don't Remember (Wyatt/Allen)
8. She's Gone (Ayers)
9. I'd Rather Be With You (Ayers)

No comments: