Sunday, December 7, 2008

The Low Frequency in Stereo

Norwegian The Low Frequency in Stereo has made three albums, and I guess it's post rock, even if I never really learned how to use that label properly.

"The Low Frequency in Stereo" (Rec 90, 2002)
"Travelling Ants Who Got Eaten By Moskus" (Rec 90, 2004)
"The Last Temptation Of...The Low Frequency in Stereo Vol. 1" (Rec 90, 2006)

The first album is an instrumental one, the second has a couple of vocal tracks (the fantastic "Man Don't Walk" being one of them), and then they get rocking on the third one with "Big City Lights", "21" and "Jimmy Legs". Great songs. Check out "Bahamas" too, at the end of the blog post.

These days the band members are: Per Steinar Lie: Bass, vocal, Ørjan Haaland: Drums, organ and vocal, Hanne Andersen: Organ, trumpet vocal and guitar, Njål Clementsen: Guitar, Linn Frøkedal: Organ, guitar, tamburins and vocal, and I'm a bit surprised that their next album "Futuro" is being released on Rune Grammofon (12 January 2009)! Kjetil Møster is guesting on that one. Listen to some of the tracks on MySpace.

No comments: