Thursday, October 23, 2008


Arve Henriksen is out with another great album, called "Cartography", and he's left Rune Grammofon for ECM this time. Some of the music is sad, some is strange and some is a bit spooky. David Sylvian's readings are in the "strange" sections here, but OK, we can accept that. Parts of the album have a soundtrack feel, and some tracks are a bit short, and we miss the end of the movies, but this album will grow and get even better with repeated listening, I'm quite sure about that.
Two tracks were recorded live during Punkt festivals in Kristiansand (Norway) in 2005 and 2006. The team: Arve Henriksen, Jan Bang, Audun Kleive, David Sylvian, Eivind Aarset, Lars Danielsson, Erik Honoré, Helge Sunde, Trio Mediaeval, Vérene Andronikof, Vytas Sondeckis, Anna Maria Friman and Ståle Storløkken. Manfred Eicher must have had a day off, because Bang and Honoré produced the stuff.

No comments: