Saturday, March 6, 2010


To straighten out my stuff on Element's "Transformation to paradise" (Jazzaway 2009), I have to lean on Norwegian jazz writer Roald Helgheim (in Norwegian).
This album is partly recorded in 2002, with among others the late bass player Bjørnar Andresen, and partly recorded with new musicians in 2009, and then mixed in Bugge's Room (Bugge Wesseltoft).
The original Element was Gisle Johansen (sax), Håvard Wiik (p), Paal Nilssen-Love (dr) and Ingebrigt Håker Flaten (b). On this album we miss Håvard Wiik, but we still have a smorgasbord of Norwegian jazz musicians present! And the album is a fine one too, being a brew of modern electronic jazz. Check it out.
These fine gentlemen play:
Gisle Johansen sax
Stian Carstensen acccordion g fl
Anders Aarum keyb
Bugge Wesseltoft p
Bjørnar Andresen b
Ingebrigt Håker Flaten b
Eivind Opsvik b
Paal Nilssen-Love dr
Cover: Knut Rasmussen.

No comments: